Very superstitious, writings on the wall

I have been a superstitious person for as long as I can remember. My Mum was very superstitious and there were long lists of things that we couldn’t do or had to do;

  • If I spilled salt I had to throw some over my left shoulder at the devil who sat there
  • If I saw an ambulance I had to hold my collar until I saw a lady in a red coat!!
  • I couldn’t walk under a ladder
  • It was unlucky to buy someone knives………………

The list was long, much longer than I could possibly replicate here and in time some of the superstitions were twisted or added to on a whim or because friends had different interpretations. The one about seeing an ambulance became holding my collar until I saw a lady in a red coat, an open window and a four legged animal.

I spent most of my teenage years holding my coat collar.

Despite the usual rejection of anything your parents told you to do, I have maintained the superstitions and added a few more that I have picked up over the years. My ex-husband used to say you couldn’t cut your nails on a Friday, no idea why but that left me only 5 other days of the week when I could safely cut my nails as Sunday’s were already a No-No. My feet have never been the same since, as trying to remember to do them on the OK days is a nightmare.

Mirrors are things to be cautious around, as I couldn’t really tempt fate by breaking one. The anxiety that I get when hanging or putting  up a new mirror doesn’t bear thinking about.

The sight of a new pair of shoes about to be put on table induces a severe case of palpitations and a scream of NO which might get me a mention in the Guinness Book of Records for loudest scream.

There are also the little oddities that I have invented myself; like if I have been wearing a new item of clothing, jewellery or make-up and something good has happened then that suddenly becomes my lucky charm and visa versa for when something not so good happens.

So if you ever see a woman wandering down the road clutching her collar, limping because her toenails haven’t been cut and looking in every direction for red coats, open windows, four legged animals (especially black cats) whilst ensuring that there are no ladders coming up, then say ‘Hi’ because, fingers crossed, it is probably me 🙂

 

One thought on “Very superstitious, writings on the wall

  1. ‘Touch wood’ and the like are so ingrained in our collective psyche that it’s very hard to shift. Of course it’s all totally irrational. But if you give yourself a good talking to you can free yourself from superstition. I did and I feel so liberated. Give it a go. You won’t regret it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

